North Carolina Transportation Board gets 5 new members

Five new members were sworn into the North Carolina Transportation Board last week.
Five new members of the North Carolina Board of Transportation were sworn in to four-year terms on March 31 by state Supreme Court Justice Paul Newby.

Three other members were sworn in to extend their service for another four years.

Sandra Fountain will serve in Division 3 covering Sampson, Duplin, Onslow, Pender, New Hanover and Brunswick counties. Division 6 will be represented by Terry Hutchens, which includes Cumberland, Harnett, Bladen, Robeson and Columbus counties.

Patrick Molamphy will serve in Division 8 covering Moore, Lee, Chatham, Randolph, Hoke, Montgomery, Richmond and Scotland counties. Tracy Dodson will represent Division 10, which includes Mecklenburg, Union, Anson, Cabarrus and Stanly counties.
Walter Debnam Jr. will represent Division 14 including Cherokee, Clay, Macon, Graham, Transylvania, Henderson, Polk, Jackson, Haywood and Swain counties.

Division 2 representative Major General Hugh Overholt, a members since 2009, was sworn in for another term. His district covers Carteret, Jones, Lenoir, Greene, Pitt, Beaufort, Craven and Pamlico counties;
"Gus" Tulloss, Division 4 representative, and member since 2008, was also sworn in for another term covering Johnston, Nash, Wayne, Wilson, Edgecombe and Halifax counties.
At-large member since 2003 Andrew Perkins was the final member to receive another term.

The board is made up of a 19 men and women from across the state. They work with the Transportation Department's staff to make decisions about priorities involving transportation in North Carolina.