Kentucky's District 10 receives state funding for transportation projects

The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet recently awarded the Department of Highways District 10 with four new contracts amounting to more than $900,000.

Of the sum, $702,500 will be dedicated to building a bridge across the Licking River in Magoffin County for the Dawkins Trail and KY 867. This project is scheduled to be finished by November 1.

An amount of $58,770 has been awarded to KY 267 (Harveyton Road) in Perry County to resurface the road. Construction leaders estimate the project will end by November 15.

The cabinet approved $117,373 for resurfacing 1.25 miles of Hiner Road, also known as KY 1146, in Perry County, which will also be finished by November 15.

In addition, $34,991 will be used to install guardrails on a portion of KY 1090 (Bear Branch Road) stretching 0.67 miles within Magoffin County. August 1 is the expected completion date.

District 10 spans 10 counties -- Estill, Breathitt, Lee, Magoffin, Morgan, Menifee, Perry, Owsley, Wolfe and Powell -- in central and southeastern Kentucky. The district office is in Jackson.

Organizations in this story

Kentucky Transportation Cabinet 200 Mero St Frankfort, KY 40601

Get notified the next time we write about Kentucky Transportation Cabinet!