3 appointed to Colorado Scenic, Historic Byways Commission

Gov. John Hickenlooper recently appointed three people to the Colorado Scenic and Historic Byways Commission.

The 15-member board, which brings together representatives from the local, state, federal and private level, is charged with promoting rural tourism and regional effectiveness, scenic conservation, historic preservation, recreation and economic development. The commission also is involved in funding and budgeting for byway management, as well as evaluating and designating scenic byways in the state. 

Appointed to three-year stints with the commission were: Rep. K.C. Becker (D-Boulder), who will represent the state legislature; Charlotte Bumgarner, from Gold Belt Tour National Scenic Byway, who will represent the Eastern Byways; and Margaret Hunt, who will represent Colorado Creative Industries.

Hickenlooper also reappointed Leah Quesenberry to the commission. She represents the Bureau of Land Management.

Other commission members represent the Colorado Transportation Commission, History Colorado, Western Colorado Byways, the U.S. Forest Service, land conservation, members at large and four ex-officio commissioners from various state departments.

The commission is celebrating its 26th annivesary this year. 

Organizations in this Story

Colorado Department of Transportation

Want to get notified whenever we write about Colorado Department of Transportation ?
Next time we write about Colorado Department of Transportation, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.