WTS announces annual transportation award winners

Anthony Foxx, U.S. Secretary of Transportation, received WTS' Rosa Parks Diversity Award.
Anthony Foxx, U.S. Secretary of Transportation, received WTS' Rosa Parks Diversity Award.
Washington, D.C.-based WTS International, an organization dedicated to the advancement of professional women in the transportation industry, recently announced the winners of its annual recognition awards.

This year's winners are Woman of the Year Rita Brogan, chief executive officer of PRR; Member of the Year Dana Hook, vice president of CDM Smith; Employer of the Year CH2M; Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award recipient Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx; and Innovative Transportation Solutions Award recipients Caltrans/SANDAG “Steer Clear”/DARmageddon Project Team for its “Steer Clear”/DARmageddon Public Outreach Program.

Brogan, a 30-year industry veteran, was Metro's first appointed female superintendent of public transportation development. Hook, who joined WTS in 2002, mentors women through her firm's program and was the firm's WTS conference champion.

CH2M was recognized for its commitment to affirmative action hiring, promoting at all employment levels and supporting the continuing education of its employees. Thirty percent of the company's workforce is female.

Foxx was honored for his efforts in facilitating professional opportunities for women and minorities. He has been one of the strongest advocates for the White House's Ladders of Opportunity program.

The “Steer Clear”/DARmageddon project was led by women and is making a difference in its community. It is a comprehensive initiative aimed at urging the public to avoid two of San Diego's busiest freeways .

The awards will be presented at a May 21 banquet in Chicago. For more information about the awards or WTS, visit http://www.WTSinternational.org.

Organizations in this Story

U.S. Department of Transportation

Want to get notified whenever we write about U.S. Department of Transportation ?
Next time we write about U.S. Department of Transportation, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.