Pipeline administration awards millions to universities for research

Shutter stock
The Pipelines and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) awarded nearly $2 million last week to 11 universities that are committed to researching safety solutions for pipelines.

A part of the U.S. Department of Transportation, that PHMSA creates and implements regulations for safe and environmentally sound operations throughout the 2.6 million miles of pipeline across the nation.

Through its Competitive Academic Agreement Program (CAAP), graduate and undergraduate students have the opportunity to provide officials with novel solutions to pipeline hazards.

The 2015 CAAP recipients include Arizona State University, University of North Dakota Energy and Environmental Research Center, University of Alaska at Anchorage, University of Akron, North Dakota State University, Rutgers State University, University of Tulsa, University of Colorado Denver, West Virginia University, University of Missouri and University of Colorado at Boulder. 

“The Competitive Academic Agreement Program pays for critical research into safety technologies and mechanisms that could improve safety throughout the entire pipeline sector," U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx said. "These investments have contributed to new pipeline technologies that are being used across the country to improve pipeline safety.”

The amount awarded to this year's recipients is double what was awarded for the program last year.   

Organizations in this Story

U.S. Department of Transportation

Want to get notified whenever we write about U.S. Department of Transportation ?
Next time we write about U.S. Department of Transportation, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.